skip navigation

De Pere Dodgers win consecutive Lakeshore Invitational Titles

By AJ Lorrigan, 06/04/18, 4:30PM CDT


Dodgers beat Legends, Manns named MVP

The De Pere Dodgers are the champions of the 4th annual Lakeshore Invitational Tournament. They have now won the tournament in consecutive years and were co-champions the year prior. De Pere topped the Appleton Legends by a score of 12-7 in the championship game on June 3 at Municipal Field in Manitowoc. Appleton jumped out to a commanding early lead by scoring five runs in the bottom of the second inning. However, De Pere quickly responded with two runs in the third and three more in the fourth to tie the game at five apiece. Noah Robinson drove in Michael Manns in the fifth on a groundout for the go-ahead and, what would be, winning run. The Dodgers would score five more in top of the sixth and Appleton would add two in the bottom of the inning to pull within four but that is as close as they would get. Hunter Staniski added the final run for De Pere with a solo homerun in the seventh. The Dodger's Michael Manns was named tournament MVP. Manns finished the tournament batting 4-9 with two doubles, two walks, and driving in four runs in three games.


Branch Pool Game Results:

Two Rivers Polar Bears 4, Branch Blaze 1

Two Rivers got on the board early scoring one run in the top of the first inning on a sacrifice fly by Chris Rohr. Branch would respond with an RBI single by Brandon Glaeser in the bottom of the inning. The Polar Bears reclaimed the lead in the second inning with an RBI single by Shad Hintz and would score two more in the seventh to win 4-1.


Appleton Legends 3, Two Rivers Polar Bears 1

Appleton scored one run in the fourth inning and Two Rivers scored one in the fifth to tie the game at one. Legends designated hitter John Hendrick drove in two on a double in the top of the seventh to take the lead and seal the win for Appleton and advance to the championship game.


Appleton Legends 15, Branch Blaze 0

The Legends offense pounded out 17 hits, including four doubles, leading to 15 runs. Their big inning was the seventh when they score seven runs. Justin Bonin had the lone hit for Branch with a single in the second inning.


Manitowoc Pool Game Results:

De Pere Dodgers 18, Manitowoc Heat 0

The Dodgers offense was led by Michael Manns and Sam Kahnle who each drive in four runs. Evan Rice picked up the win for De Pere throwing five shutout innings and striking out nine.


De Pere Dodgers 3, Plymouth Flames 2

Plymouth held a 2-0 lead going into the seventh inning but the Dodgers first three batters reached and scored to give De Pere a 3-2 lead to win the game and the pool.


Manitowoc Heat 1, Plymouth Flames 11

The Flames jumped out to a 4-0 lead after the first inning and added two runs in the second, one run in the third, and four in the fifth. Marques Trost led off the third inning with a double for the Heat and scored on Brian Richard's sacrifice fly to score the lone run for Manitowoc.