skip navigation

Shoreland League Hands Out 2018 Awards

By Andrew Lorrigan, 09/11/18, 12:30PM CDT


Austin Rohe & Luke Mandich take home hardware

The Shoreland League handed out it's 2018 awards Monday night. The Two Rivers Polar Bears were awarded the Regular Season Championship with a 10-2 record and held the tie-breaker over Algoma. The 'Guins would not go home empty handed, however, as they were crowned League Champions with their Championship Series victory over Two Rivers in the playoffs and had multiple players recognized for their efforts this past season.


Batting Champion – Austin Rohe, Algoma 'Guins

Rohe led the league with a .541 batting average, recording 20 hits in 37 at bats.

Pitcher of the Year – Luke Mandich, Two Rivers Polar Bears

Mandich started 5 games for Two Rivers and finished the year with a 4-1 record and 1.73 ERA while topping the league in strikeouts.

Most Valuable Player – Austin Rohe, Algoma 'Guins

Batting Champion, all-league short stop, and MVP to top it off. Rohe finished first or second in most offensive categories and played in every game for the champion 'Guins.


For the first time ever, players were recognized for their on-field success with the "All-Shoreland" team as voted on by league managers.

Inaugural 2018 All-Shoreland Team

Catcher – AJ Dollinger, Two Rivers Polar Bears

First Base – Sam Forkert, Algoma 'Guins

Second Base – Luke Mandich, Two Rivers Polar Bears

Third Base – Bubba Laughlin, Algoma 'Guins

Short Stop – Austin Rohe, Algoma 'Guins

Outfield – Tom Sawyer, Algoma 'Guins
Alex Loberger, Denmark Devilbears
Sam Koss, Algoma 'Guins

Designated Hitter – Joe Janke, Branch Blaze

Pitcher – Luke Mandich, Two Rivers Polar Bears
Justin Alexander, Algoma 'Guins

Manager – Craig Kirchman, Algoma 'Guins


Honorable Mention

1B - Brent Robinson, Branch Blaze
1B - Chris Rohr, Two Rivers Polar Bears
SS – Earl Vorpagel, Two Rivers Polar Bears
OF – Shad Hintz, Two Rivers Polar Bears
DH – Ben Wyngaard, Denmark Devilbears
P – Wes Mleziva, Denmark Devilbears